CD / Digital
November 8, 2000


Tiny Crustacean Light Show is the epic third studio album by Montana psych-poppers Donovan’s Brain.

Much like their previous records, Light Show promises guitars, guitars, and more guitars spread across 14 tracks, spanning the sonic spectrum from precise rockers to Beatles-esque melodics to extended, spaced-out excursions. DB is six voices strong on this one, with everyone in the band contributing something special to the mix.

No strangers to guest musicians, Donovan’s Brain welcomes vintage rocker Dave Walker to the fold. It was Dave who became lead singer for Idle Race when Jeff Lynne left to join The Move, but he’s probably best known for his years in Savoy Brown and turns with Fleetwood Mac and Black Sabbath. Having lent their talents to DB’s second album, ex-Help Yourself members Richard Treece and Ken Whaley return—this time with Malcolm Morley in tow. This marks the first time these three founding members of Help Yourself have appeared together on record since 1974! The Nomads’ Joakim Erickson also lends drums to the album’s evocative title track.

Included with its 13 jaw-dropping new originals, Light Show presents a cover of “Ox Blood” an unreleased track composed by Jim McPhearson. Jim was a member of John Cipollina’s post-Quicksilver Messenger Service bands Copperhead and Raven. “Ox Blood” comes from a Raven rehearsal tape Cipollina slipped to main Brain, Ron Sanchez.